//
you're listening to...
Balkans, Macedonia (Македонија), Pop, Rock, Serbo-Croatian (Srpskohrvatski)

“Volim Osmijeh Tvoj” (Toše Proeski, Antonija Šola)

Country: Macedonia; Balkans

Language: Bosnian/Serbian/Croatian

Chords
D A
A D
A G D

Bm A
Bm A
G A D

Em A
D Bm
Em A D

“Volim osmijeh tvoj”

Krade mi te cesta
kradu mi te ljudi
svako pomalo od osmijeha
tvog posudi

Iza svakog ugla
stalno neko vreba
da mi te ukrade
kada malo sreće treba

Nitko nije kriv za to
što te volim toliko
al’ osmijeh tvoj je kriv da znaš
što me osvajaš

Volim osmijeh tvoj baš dobro ti stoji
još ti bolje stoje poljupci moji
ma kriv je meni svako
kom smiješ se ti, moja ljubavi

Volim osmijeh tvoj i nosi ga uvijek
smij se samo, dušu mi grij zauvijek
i krivi su mi svi, i krivo mi je sve
kad sam bez tebe

Al’ nije krivo more
niti sol u kosi
niti nebo koje boju
oka tvoga nosi

 

“I love your smile”

The road steals you from me
People steal you from me
Everyone is borrowing a little bit of your smile

Behind every corner, someone lies waiting
to steal you from me when a bit of happiness is needed

No one is culpable why I love you so
But your smile is culpable, may you know, for conquering me

I love your smile, it suits you very well
even better my kisses suit you
but everyone is guilty for me
to whom you smile, my love

I love your smile, and/just wear it always
just smile, warm my soul forever
and everyone is guilty for me, and everything is to blame for me,
when I am without you

But the sea is not to blame
nor the salt in your hair
nor the sky which bears the color of your eyes

Vocabulary

Krasti – to steal (also, ukrasti)
svako – everyone; (also svi)
pomalo od – a little bit of (followed by genitive case)
posuditi – to borrow, loan
iza – behind, after (genitive case)
ugao (m) – corner, angle
stalno – continuously, invariably
neko – someone
vrebati – to stalk, lurk, lie in ambush
sreća (f) – happiness, luck
kriv – guilty, culpable, wrong
osvajati – to conquer, win
voliti – to love
osmijeh (m) – smile
stajati – to stand, cost, reside, suit
poljubac (m) – kiss
smiješiti se – to smile
nositi – to carry, bring, wear
grijati – to warm
more (n) – the sea
sol (f) – salt
kosa (f) – hair
nebo (n) – sky
boja (f) – color
oko (n) – eye; oka is genitive plural

 Grammar Notes
1. mi ~ for me, to me, my

Grammatically mi is a pronoun in the dative singular form of the first person, in other words, “to me” or “for me” (not to be confused with the nominative first person plural mi, or “we”, which is often dropped).  It is technically the clitic form of the longer meni.

However, because this form of mi is so often used in Serbo-Croatian in a reflexive way, it is can be understood or translated as the possession pronoun “my”.

Krade mi te cesta
The road steals you from me

Kradu mi te ljudi
People steal you from me

Dušu mi grij zauvijek
Warm my soul forever

Krivi su mi svi
To me everyone is to blame

Krivo mi je sve
To me everything is to blame

2.  Genitive case examples

The genitive case is used to connect two nouns in a possession relationship.  Where in English you use the word “of” or a possessive apostrophe, in Serbo-Croatian the second noun is marked by the genitive case.

Pomalo od osmjeha tvog
A little bit of your smile

The genitive case is also used with a large number of prepositions in Serbo-Croatian:

Iza svakog ugla
Behind every corner

In both these examples, the second noun happens to be in the masculine gender (osmijeh, smile; ugao, corner).  When marked by the genitive case, singular masculine nouns (as well as singular neuter nouns) take an -a ending.  Thus, osmijeh becomes osmijeha, and ugao becomes ugla.

Moreover, if the second noun is masculine/neuter singular and is modified by an adjective, that adjective is marked with an –og (or -oga) ending.  Thus, tvoj, your, becomes tvog, and svako, each, becomes svakog.

Note that this pattern (adjective-og followed by noun-a) is for masculine and neuter singular nouns.  In the case of a feminine singular noun, both adjective and noun ends with -e.  For example, if the lyric were:

“a little bit of luck”
pomalo sreće

“behind every house”
iza svake kuće

Thus, the singular feminine nouns (sreça, luck, happiness; kuća, house) and any adjectives (svako) all take -e endings in this construction.

One exception is when the noun ends in -ost.  This is a common ending for feminine nouns, but it follows a different rule, ending in –i for every case except nominative and accusative.  Thus,

The prediction of the future
Predviđanje budućnosti

Finally, note that for plural nouns in the genitive case, the adjective will end in -ih and the noun will end in -a.  Here are three regular examples – feminine, masculine, neuter.

Behind the small houses
Iza malih kuća

Outside the big cities
Izvan velikih gradova

The color of your lips
Boja tvojih usana

 

 

 

 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

