//
you're listening to...
Bossa Nova, Brazil (Brasil), Portuguese (Português)

“Chega de Saudade” (Elizete Cardoso)

Country: BRAZIL
Language: PORTUGUESE (PORTUGUÊS)
Genre: BOSSA NOVA

GUITAR CHORDS:

“CHEGA DE SAUDADE”

Vai, minha tristeza, e diz a ele que sem ele não pode ser
Diz-lhe numa prece que ele regresse, porque eu não posso mais sofrer

Chega de saudade, a realidade é que sem ele não há paz
Não há beleza, é só tristeza e a melancolia que não sai de mim

Mas se ele voltar, se ele voltar, que coisa linda, que coisa louca
Pois há menos peixinhos a nadar no mar do que os beijinhos que eu darei na sua boca

Dentro dos meus braços, os abraços hão de ser milhões de abraços
apertado assim, colado assim, calado assim
Abraços e beijinhos e carinhos sem ter fim

Que é prá acabar com esse negócio de viver longe de mim
Não quero mais esse negócio de você viver assim
Vamos deixar desse negócio de você viver sem mim

“NO MORE SAUDADE” (Original English Translation, 2013)

Go, my sadness, and tell him that without him I cannot be
Tell-him in a prayer to return because I cannot suffer anymore

No more saudade, the reality is that without him there is no peace
There is no beauty, it is only sadness and melancholy that doesn’t leave me

But if he returns, if he returns, what a beautiful thing, what a crazy thing
For there are less little fish to swim in the sea than the kisses that I’ll give in his mouth

In my arms, the embraces must be millions of embraces
Tight like this, glued like this, silent like this
Embraces and little kisses and caresses without end

‘Cause it’s about time to end this business of living far from me
I don’t want anymore this business of you living like this
Let’s leave this business of you living without me

VOCABULARY
Prece – prayer
Chega de – enough, no more
Apertado – tight, narrow
Colar – to glue, adhere
Calado – silent
Negócio – business, affair

Discussion

One thought on ““Chega de Saudade” (Elizete Cardoso)

  1. Nice translation, congrats from Brasil.

    Posted by thaygoulart | June 24, 2013, 4:00 am

Leave a Reply

