//
you're listening to...
Belgium (Belgique/België), Chanson, French (Français)

“Ne me quitte pas” (Jacques Brel)

Country: BELGIUM
Language: FRENCH (FRANÇAIS)
Genre: CHANSON

GUITAR CHORDS (tuned up 1/2 step)
Verse 1, 3, 5
:
Am  /  Am/G  /  Dm  /  E7
Dm  /  E7 /  Am   /  Am/G (2x)
Dm  /  E7 /  Am   / /

Verse 2, 4:
Am  /  F  /  E7 / Am
Am  /  F  /  G  /  E7
Am  /  Gm  /  F  /  Am
C  /  Dm  /  E7  / /

“NE ME QUITTE PAS”

Ne me quitte pas, il faut oublier tout peut s’oublier qui s’enfuit déjà
Oublier le temps des malentendus et le temps perdu à savoir comment
Oublier ces heures qui tuaient parfois à coups de pourqoui, le coeur du bonheur
Ne me quitte pas

Moi je t’offrirai des perles de pluie venues de pays où il ne pleut pas
Je creuserai la terre jusqu’après ma mort pour couvrir ton corps d’or et de lumière
Je ferai un domaine où l’amour sera roi, où l’amour sera loi, où tu seras reine
Ne me quitte pas

Ne me quitte pas, je t’inventerai des mots insensés que tu comprendras
Je te parlerai de ces amants là qui ont vu deux fois leurs coeurs s’embraser
Je te raconterai l’histoire de ce roi mort de n’avoir pas pu te rencontrer
Ne me quitte pas

On a vu souvent rejaillir le feu de l’ancien volcan qu’on croyait trop vieux
Il est paraît-il des terres brulées donnant plus de blé qu’un meilleur avril
Et quand vient le soir pour qu’un ciel flamboie, le rouge et le noir ne s’épousent-ils pas?
Ne me quitte pas

Ne me quitte pas, je ne vais plus pleurer, je ne vais plus parler, je me cacherai
là à te regarder, danser et sourire et à t’écouter chanter et puis rire
Laisse-moi devenir l’ombre de ton ombre, l’ombre de ta main, l’ombre de ton chien
Ne me quitte pas

“DON’T LEAVE ME” (Original English Translation, 2013)

Don’t leave me, we must forget, everything that is already gone can be forgotten
forget the time of misunderstandings and the time lost
trying to know how to forget the hours that killed sometimes with blows of “why”
the heart of the happiness
Don’t leave me

Me, I will offer you pearls of rain that come from countries where it doesn’t rain
I will dig the earth until my death to cover your body with gold and with light
I will make a domain where love will be king, where love will be law
where you will be queen
Don’t leave me

Don’t leave me, I will invent for you senseless words that you will understand
I will talk to you of those lovers there that saw two times their hearts set ablaze
I will tell you the story of this king, dead from not being able to find you
Don’t leave me

We have often seen the fire raining down from the old volcano that we thought was too old
There are, it seems, burned lands giving more wheat than the best April
And when the evening comes for a flaming sky
Don’t the red and the black marry?
Don’t leave me

Don’t leave me, I’m not going to cry anymore, I’m not going to speak anymore
I’ll hide myself there to watch you dancing and smiling
And to hear you singing and then laughing
Let me become the shadow of your shadow, the shadow of your hand, the shadow of your dog
Don’t leave me

VOCABULARY
S’enfuir – to flee, take flight (s’enfuir à toutes jambes, to run for your life)
Creuser – to dig, look deeper into
Domaine – domain, estate, home
Insensé – senseless, foolish
Embraser – to set on ablaze, set on fire, impassion
Rencontrer – to meet, run into
Rejaillir – to rain down upon, spurt up
Brûler – to burn
Blé – wheat
Flamboyer – to blaze, go up in flames

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

