//
you're listening to...
Dutch (Nederlands), Hip hop, Netherlands (Nederland), Rap

“Ik Neem Je Mee” (Gers Pardoel)

Country: The Netherlands (Nederland)
Language: Dutch (Nederlands)
Genre: Hip hop, Dutch hip hop, rap (Nederhop)
Album: Deze Wereld is van Jou (2011)


Guitar chords:

Intro: Gm  Eb
Verse: Gm  Eb  Bb  F
Chorus:  Bb  Eb  Gm   F

“Ik neem je mee”

Ze denkt dat ik niet bezig ben met haar
denkt dat ik geen gevoelens heb voor haar
terwijl ik nu alleen maar denk aan haar
want zij is heel mijn wereld

zeg me wat je wilt dan, staren word ik stil van
zeg me want je wilt dan, staren word ik stil van

we waren pas acht, zat in de klas
naast Tomas en Willem, voor Mark en Bas
jij zat voorin, keek acheterom
ik stuurde je briefjes en vroeg je waarom je stuurde me terug:
“ik vind je lief, zit open een wolk en ik ben verliefd”

Tien jaren later waren we samen
ik was een jongetje, jij al een dame
wist het wel zeker jij bent de ware
niemand waar ik nou zo lang naar kon staren
soms is het erg maar dit is mijn werk
voor jou ben ik Gerwin, en Gers is het merk

ik neem je mee, neem je mee op reis
neem je mee naar Rome of Parijs
ik lijk misschien wel cool totdat je weet wat ik nu voel
jij klinkt als muziek dus laat je zien wat ik bedoel
ik neem je mee

ik denk aan haar en zei denkt aan mij
“jij bent te druk,” is wat ze me zei
ze wil met me shoppen en samen uit eten
wil naar de bios en wil met me daten
maar ik wil muziek en geld op de bank
al me fans die wachten al lang

ik wil een toekomst opbouwen met haar
twee kids, een huis met een tuin aan het water
hond of kater, wat jij wil
maar blijf nou niet staren want dan word ik stil
doe dit voor ons en werk dus hard
want ik hou van jou met heel mijn hart

“I’ll Take You with Me” (Original English Translation by ORS, 2011)

She thinks that I’m not concerned with her,
thinks that I have no feelings for her
while now I only think of her
for she is my whole world

Tell me what you want, ’cause staring, I become silent
Tell me what you will, ’cause staring, I’ll become silent

We were only eight, sat in the class
next to Tomas and Willem, in front of Mark and Bas
you sat in front, looked behind
I sent you little letters and asked you why you send me back:
“I find you lovely, (I) sit up in a cloud and I am in love”

Ten years later we were together
I was a little youngin’, you already a woman
Knew it pretty certain, you are the real one
Nobody who I could stare at so long now
Sometimes it is bad, but this is my work
For you I am Gerwin, and Gers is the brand

I’ll take you with me, take you with me on a trip
Take you with me to Rome or Paris
I look, perhaps, real cool until you know what I’m feeling now
You sound like music, so later you’ll see what I mean
I’ll take you with me

I think of her and she thinks of me
“You’re too busy” is what she said to me
She wants to shop with me and eat out together
wants to go to the movies and wants to date with me
but I want music and money in the bank
already my fans who are waiting a long time

I want to build a future with her
two kids, a house with a garden on the water
dog or (male) cat, whatever you want
but don’t keep staring now, for then I’ll become silent
(I) do this for us and so (I) work hard
because I love you with all my heart

Vocabulary

terwijl – while, but; related to German die Weile (a while); from Old Norse hvila “bed” or hvild “rest”
want – for, because; from Old Norse vanta “to lack, want”
willen – to want, wish; related to German wollen, French vouloir, etc; from PIE *wel/*wol “be pleasing”
worden – to become; related to German werden, Swedish varda, Icelandic verda
kijken – to look; p
achter – behind
sturen – to send; also, to steer; related to German steuern (to steer) and Germanic root *steuro “rudder”
brief – letter; related to German der Brief; from Latin brevis “brief, summary”
vragen – to ask; related to German fragen
terug – back; related to German zurück as in rucksack from German der Rücken “the back” (from rücken “to move”)
lief – sweet, dear; from liefde (love); related to German lieb, from PIE *leubh “to care, desire, love”
wolk – cloud; related to German die Wolke
samen – together; related to German zusammen
dame – lady; related to German die Dame; from Latin domina “lady of the house” from Latin domus (house)
zeker – sure, certain; related to German sicher, French sûr; from Latin securus “free from care, safe”
erg – bad, badly; also very; related to German arg (bad, serious, extreme), Swedish arg;
merk – mark, brand; from Germanic *marko “sign , boundary”
reis – trip, journey; related to German die Reise
lijken – look, seem; from West Germanic root *lokjan
misschien – perhaps
tot, totdat – until
klinken – to sound, clink; related to German klingen (to sound)
als – as, like; related to German als
dus – thus, so; Old English thus “in this way”
bedoelen – to mean, to want to say; related to German bedeuten
druk – busy
naar – to, in the direction of; possibly related to “near”, from Old Norse naer
bioscoop – cinema; abbreviated as “bios” from the Greek βιος, bios (life, living) and σκοπειν, skopein (to look at).
geld – money; related to German das Geld; from PIE *ghel “yellow, green, bright”
bouwen – to build; related to German bauen; from PIE *bhu “to dwell”
tuin – garden; related to English town, German der Zaun (fence); from Germanic *tunan “fence, hedge, garden”)
blijven – to stay, remain; related to German bleiben
houden van – to like, love

Grammar and Other Notes

1.  Dutch as a Germanic Language

In this video “Dutch: Languages of the World: Introductory Overviews”, Dr. Alexander Arguelles outlines some of the distinctive visual features of Dutch, including relative absence of accent marks, double vowels, the letter combination “ij”, and initial “z”.

Furthermore, in terms of vocabulary, Dutch and English share hundreds and perhaps thousands of very similar roots.   Here are some from this song:

denken – to think
gevoelen – to fel
zeggen – to say
zitten – to sit
vinden – to find
eten – to eat
wachten – to wait
bezig – busy, occupied
stil – still, quiet
nu – now, right now
nou – now, well
alleen – only, alone
naast – next (to), beside
voor – for, before, in front of
al – already, yet
soms – sometimes
uit – out
toekomst – future; “to come”
hond – dog
kat – cat; plural adds -en (katen)

2.  Definite Article  “The”: De vs. Het

In Dutch, the definite article before most singular nouns and all plural nouns is de.  However, before neuter nouns, the definite article is het.

Neuter nouns include diminutives (end in -je), animals, nouns of verbal stem origin (beginning with be-, ge-, or ver-), collective nouns (beginning with ge-), and many material nouns.

Examples of neuter nouns:

het kind   the child, het kindje   the baby, het paard  the horse
het besluit   the decision, het gebladerte   the foliage, het goud   the gold

The indefinite article (“a, an”) is simply een, which also means “one”.  In the event that a distinction is necessary, the indefinite article is marked with accent marks (één).

Examples of definite and indefinite articles in “Ik neem je mee”:

we zat in de klas    we sat in the class
jij bent de ware     you were the one
Gers is het merk    Gers is the mark/brand
ze wil naar de bios    she wants (to go) to the movies/cinema
ik wil geld op de bank   i want money in the bank
ik wil een toekomst opbouwen  i want to build (up) a future
een huis met een tuin aan het water   a house with a garden by the water

3.  Personal Pronouns: Many forms of “You”

The basic arrangement of personal pronouns in Dutch is as follows:

I            ik*
you               gij, ge ; jij, je ; U, u
he            hij
she            zij*, ze
it            het* (sometimes spelled ‘t)

we            wij*, we
you             jullie
they            zij*, ze

*Pronunciation of ik, wij, zij, and het is considered “full” when the pronouns are stressed.  In unstressed positions, the pronunciation is slightly different.

There are various ways to say “you” in Dutch.

Gij and ge are used in literature (such as the Bible) and prayers.

Jij and je are used in familiar situations, among family and friends.

U and u are used in more formal and/or business situations.  In writing, the capital U is more formal.  This personal pronoun can take either the 2nd or 3rd person singular verb.

Jullie is the plural form of you, and can either the singular or the plural verb.

4.  Basic Present Tense Verbs: Hebben (to have) and Zijn (to be)

Hebben (to have)

ik heb                                    wij/we hebben
je hebt                                    jullie hebben
U hebt/heeft
hij; zij, ze heeft             zij, ze hebben
het heeft

Zijn (to be)

ik ben                                    wij, we zijn
je bent                                    jullie zijn
U bent/is
hij; zij, ze is                        zij, ze zijn
het is

Examples of Hebben and Zihn in “Ik neem je mee”

ik niet bezig ben                        I am not busy
ik geen gevoelens heb voor haar            I have no feelings for her
zij is heel mijn wereld                        she is my whole world
soms is het erg                                    sometimes it is bad


Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

