//
you're listening to...
Chile, Rock, Spanish (Español/Castellano)

“Mentira” (La Ley)

Live performance of “Mentira” (YouTube)
Language: Spanish (Español)
Country: Chile

“Mentira”
La Ley
MTV Unplugged (2001)

Mentira, mi vida
lo que se da y no se mira
Mentira fundida con miel que evaporó mi piel
Mentira prohibida debilidad que me domina
Mentira, mi vida
no quiero mas mentirte

Amor, solamente encontré 
el necio precio de volverme

Mentira vendida
polaridad que me intoxica
Mentiras hundidas
Flagelo que mi corazón no olvida
Mentira
las tentaciones destructivas
Mentira medida
no quiero mas mentirte,

Amor, solamente me perdí, regreso para devolverte

Mi corazón
 late por ti
 dentro de mi.
mi corazón
 nunca dejó
 tu corazón

Mentira servida
en vino y pan de cada día
Mentira atrevida
bolero de mi corazón
amarga saliva
sabor a culpa y agonía
mentira divina
no quiero mas mentirte

Amor,
solamente encontré 
el necio precio de volverme a ver

Amor, solamente encontré 
el necio precio de volverte

Mi corazón 
late por ti
 dentro de mi
y siempre busco la verdad.
mi corazón 
nunca dejó 
tu corazón

mi corazón 
late por ti 
dentro de mi
y busco siempre la verdad
mi corazón nunca se fue

“Lie” (English translation by ORS, 2011)

Lie, my life,
What is given and not seen
Lie, melted with honey that evaporated my skin
Life, prohibited weakness that dominates me
Life, my life,
I don’t want to lie to you anymore

Love, I only found the stupid price to come back

Lie, sold
Polarity that intoxicates me
Sunken lies
Whip that my heart doesn’t forget,
Lie
The destructive temptations
Measured lie
I don’t want to love to you anymore

Love, I only lost myself, I’m back to return myself

My heart beats for you inside of me
My heart never left your heart

Lie,
Served in wine and daily bread
Daring lie
Bolero of my heart
Bitter saliva
Taste of guilt and agony
Divine lie
I don’t want to lie to you anymore

Love, I only found the stupid price to come back to see
Love, I only found the stupid price to return to you

My heart beats for you inside of me
And I always look for the truth
My heart never left your heart
My heart beats for you inside of me
And I look always for the truth
My heart never left

Vocabulary

Fundir – to melt, smelt (derretirse, like Port. derreter); from L. fundere (to pour, cast, scatter), as in Port. fundir, Cat.fondir, Ital. fondere, Fr. fonder; as in culinary term “fondue” (melted)

Necio – (adjective) stupid, naughty; from L. nescire (ne + scire, “not know”, ignorant)

Hundir – to sink; related to “fundir” and L. fundere; like Port. afundar, Ital. affondare

El flagelo – flagellum, whip, scourge; from Latin flagrum/flagellum (scourge, whip)

Latir – to beat, throb (heart)

Atrevido – (adjective) daring, bold; from verb atreverse (to dare to, to take on); from Latin tribuere (divide, assign) from L. tribus (tribe)

El bolero – Spanish dance, from L. bulla (bubble) or bola (ball)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

